October 2014 Young Eagles Report: A Good Day

EAA Chapter 242 Young Eagles Program

EAA Chapter 242 Young Eagles Program

By Ron Shelton

Good day except not enough aircraft. We flew 47 kids but our participating pilots were much overworked. Pilots participating were Harry Bous, Ron Johnson, David Nieves, Phil Pesek and Don Purcell. We now have 380 year to date. Our all time total is now 10734.

We were also hosting the Spann Watson Chapter of the Tuskegee Airmen Organization again in October –and they cooked out again for us and some of our guests. A group that attended was the AFJROTC from C A Johnson School. They were patient as we worked to get them all an airplane ride. We also did tours of the SC Historic Aviation Foundation Hangar.

The November young eagles will be a big day with some special guests and we will be playing makeup for two down months. We expect more than 40 young eagles so need lots of help. See the announcement below.

Pilots participating or adding young eagles in October: Harry Bous, Ron Johnson, David Nieves, Phil Pesek and Don Purcell.

The ground volunteers in October were: George Batten, Joe Berger, Rocky Berger, Brad Blackburn, Bill Blythe, Claude Chevelier, James Hagerty, Xen Motsinger, Ron Shelton and Tyler Smuck. We are pleased to have Brad Blackburn, new EAA member, on board.
Doug Oates, CFI, started a ground school class for ages 15 – 18 on August 9. They are meeting every other week to reach 32 hrs of class time. Please contact Doug if interested. doates2@sc.rr.com

Please assist in finding more YEs so we can continue to excel –we all encounter families and groups with kids ages 6-18 which we can tell about our program and invite.

EAA Chapter 242's 2014 Air Academy students Samuel Whatley and Tyler Smuck were invited to the cockpit of their airliner.

EAA Chapter 242’s 2014 Air Academy students Samuel Whatley and Tyler Smuck were invited to the cockpit of their airliner.

EAA 242 sent two young eagles to Air Academy this year. Tyler Smuck and Samuel Whatley (both age 15) traveled to Oshkosh on July 7. They did a fine job of reporting on their Airventure at the EAA 242 meeting in August. EAA 1058 in Hartsville helped us out with some of their young eagles credits. Please consider a donation to the Selina Wolf Foundation( a 501c3) to help EAA 242 support more of this kind of activity(sending youth to Air Academy). Send donation to: Selina Wolf Foundation, C/O Gerry Biehl, EAA 242 Hangar, 1400 Jim Hamilton Blvd., Columbia, SC 29205.

Our next regular event is on Saturday November 8, 9am – 11:30am. Note: We are having a large group of kids since we did not get to fly many in August and September because of weather issues. We will need lots of pilots and ground volunteers so we can get a large group of children flown.

Pilots participating in 2014: Doug Barnes 17, Harry Bous 18, Paul Carter 41, James Clark 8, Ron Claypool 1, Don Cook 5, Steve Cromer 25, Neal Deye 6, Francis Drayton 8, Maxwell Esquenazi 1, Jack Fastnaught , Bo Fender 14, Al Folger 65, Cantzon Foster 17, Mike Hoover 3, Ron Johnson 16, Scott Linaberry 12, Larry Maner 3 , Rick Morse 16, David Nieves 43, Philip Pesek 12, Eddie Price 3, Don Purcell 21, AliceAnn Reu, Steve Richardson 2, Don Roberts 7 , Tom Roberts 15, Steve Sanderson 2, Tony Speranza 2.

Our Ground Volunteers in 2014: George Batton, Joe Beatty, Joe Berger, Rocky Berger, Sharon Berger, Brad Blackburn, Bill Blythe, Harry Bous, Claude Chevalier, Al Folger, James Hagerty, Kellie Hosonitz, Kate McLaurin, Xen Motsinger, David Nieves, Clinton Parnell, Ken Plantz, AliceAnn Reu, Jean Roberts, Tom Roberts, David Shelton, Parker Shelton, Ron Shelton, Erika Sineath, Tyler Smuck, Kelly Smutylo and Samuel Whatley.
Go to http://www.youngeagles.org/ and select the World’s Largest Logbook to see a listing of all the EAA 242 totals since 1992.

About sheltr

2009 EAA Young Eagles Coordinator Of The Year.
This entry was posted in Air Academy, Young Eagles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>